Cranberry Pecan Flax Muffins

Hello I am back from our summer break. We have been on a 3 state amazing road trip, had to be at my daughter’s two dance shows, and helped out at one Girl Scout Harry Potter Camp. I hope I can get back to writing more regularly. I have so many wonderful things to share with you for the summer I am just bursting at the seams.



::: Do you want to start of your morning in a healthier way than usual? It’s important to eat something for breakfast and what you eat can make a big difference in how you feel later in the day. I know I have already given you the green smoothie challenge, but if you have a bunch of hungry people to feed or you are in need of something more filing in the morning, let me introduce you to my newest and greatest love : Flax-seed Meal, a very ancient thing from biblical times that is making a comeback. I had no idea how much I would truly love the taste of this stuff, I am kicking myself for not trying this sooner.

Flax-seed meal contains all sorts of healthy things for you.  Mainly omega-3 essential fatty acids, lignans and fiber. Omega-3 essential fatty acids are “good” fats that have been shown to have heart-healthy effects. Lignans have both plant estrogen and antioxidant qualities. Flax-seeds contains 75 to 80 times more lignans than other plant foods as well as being high in dietary fiber (both the soluble and insoluble types). It’s also a powerful natural cholesterol controller!

So today I bring you a recipe inspired by one that was on the package of flax-seed meal. The recipe called for carrots and apples, but I really wanted something closer to a bran muffin so I changed it up. In fact I liked these muffins way more than any bran muffin I have ever had and these are healthier and less fattening than those store made ones. You could also try subbing out the oil for applesauce to make it even healthier, but I have yet to try that.


Cranberry Pecan Flax Muffins

PicsArt_1405290731451

Makes 12 large muffins

:::  Ingredients  :::

  • 2 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1 Cup Flaxseed Meal (I used Bob’s Red Mill brand)
  • 1/4 cup Almond Meal
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup milk, almond milk, or soy milk
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup roughly chopped pecans
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs or 3 tsp of Egg Replacer + 4 tbsp warm water

::: Instructions :::

  • Heat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Spray cupcake pan with baking spray or oil & flour the pan
  • In Kitchen-aid, mix together dry ingredients: flour, flaxseed meal, almond meal, oats, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, & cinnamon
  • Stir in cranberries and pecans
  • Add milk, oil, vanilla, and eggs (or egg replacer already mixed with water) and blend slowly until combined
  • MIxture should be thick and sticky, if too thick add a little more milk
  • Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full – using egg replacer I was able to fill them up almost all the way, but not overflowing
  • Bake for about 17-22 min for metal cupcake pans or 20-30 min for stoneware muffin pan
  • Muffins are done when you can stick a toothpick in the middle and it comes out clean

Bob’s Red Mill Whole Ground Flaxseed Meal

20140707_105956

Leave a Reply

