Buttermilk Pie

PicsArt_1399398491238

The first time I ever heard of Buttermilk Pie was earlier this year. I was dining with a group of friends at one of my favorite place, The Freemont Diner, and Buttermilk Pie as their pie of the day. We all took a chance, not knowing what it really was. OMG, it was the most delicious thing my taste-buds have ever experienced. The sweet creamy filling, had traces of nutmeg and cinnamon and their flaky crust was the best pie crust I have ever devoured. I was almost like if you took creme brulee and turned it into a pie – this would be that pie.

I knew after that day, that I would need to research this new amazing treasure and find out exactly what’s in this pie. Well lo and behold, as I was going through a magazine the very next day, a Penzeys Spices Catalog which I had for several months but hadn’t bothered to look at yet,  there was THE PIE…. the Buttermilk pie! I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Was the universe telling me I needed to make this pie? yep, I am pretty sure it was, and I did.


::: Buttermilk Pie :::

Adapted from Colleen Dyroff as Published in Penzeys Spice Catalog

This is one of the easiest pies I have ever made, the ingredients whisk together so quickly.

Ingredients for filling:

  • 1/2 Cup (1 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 3/4 Cup sugar
  • 3 Tbls all purpose flour
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 Cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt

20140506_101023

Ingredients for crust:

Note: I used a frozen store bought crust once for this pie, and it just wasn’t the same. The homemade crust really makes a huge difference.

  • 1/2 Cup (1 stick) cold butter
  • 2-4 Tbls milk or water
  • 1 Cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Instructions for the crust:

  1. Prepare the crust first – cut the butter into small pieces, place in Kitchen-aide mixer bowl or food processor
  2. Add the flour, salt, and sugar to the butter, blend slowly until combined
  3. Add the milk or water slowly until dough holds together
  4. Cover with plastic wrap and chill for about 30 minutes
  5. Sprinkle counter or rolling mat with flour and gently roll out the chilled dough
  6. Roll until its a large enough circle to fit in pie pan
  7. Carefully transfer to dough to pan and press down to fit into the bottom
  8. Trim edges of dough if needed
  9. Crimp or scallop the edges of the crust for decoration

Instructions For the Filling:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs
  3. In Kitchen-aide mixer, combine melted butter, sugar, flour, eggs, buttermilk, vanilla, nutmeg and salt
  4. Mix on low until smooth
  5. Place pie crust on cookie sheet in case of bubbling over
  6. Pour into prepared pie crust
  7. Place cookie sheet in over, and bake for 50-60 minutes, until its puffy, golden brown, and a toothpick comes out clean.
  8. There will be a lot of bubbling, as it gets close to being done that will subside. Cool on wire rack
  9. Serve warm or refrigerate
  10. Serve with fresh berries and/or whipped cream

PicsArt_1399356112431

Leave a Reply

